The Directorate consists of five sub-divisions:

Community Library Services, the National Library, Ministerial Library Services, Education Library Services and the National Archives.
The Namibia Library and Archives Services (NLAS) is a central agency for the implementation of national and international standards relating to library and information work. Its purpose is to secure equal access to knowledge and information for lifelong learning by creating and maintaining professional expertise and nationwide network of libraries/information centres.